Netflix has announced that it will start automatically canceling accounts that have been inactive for long periods of time even if one is paying for it religiously. If a person has not used their account in over a year, the streaming platform will automatically cancel the account’s subscription.
Users who have left their accounts dormant for a year or longer will receive a notification from the company inquiring if they would want to continue their subscription. However, the company states that it will reach out to these customers first via email to make sure they would like to cancel. If they don’t hear back, they will stop charging the account for the monthly service fee.
Later on, if a deactivated user wishes to re-open an account, the streaming service will have retained their old viewing history and preferences. Their login credentials will also remain unchanged unless otherwise.
Product innovation director Eddy Wu wrote t on Netflix’s website:
You know that sinking feeling when you realise you signed up for something but haven’t used it in ages? At Netflix, the last thing we want is people paying for something they’re not using,So we’re asking everyone who has not watched anything on Netflix for a year since they joined to confirm they want to keep their membership. And we’ll do the same for anyone who has stopped watching for more than two years
Inactive members will start seeing these emails or in-app notifications as early as this week and if there is no confirmation for continued subscription, their subscription status will be nullified automatically. later on, if there is a change of mind the said Netflix accounts will be restarted.